FOR RELEASE: October 27, 1994 CONTACT: John Barclay (202) 208-5890

66 MMS EMPLOYEES HONORED FOR REINVENTION EFFORTS (#40080)

The U.S. Interior Department's Minerals Management Service (MMS) last Wednesday honored 66 of its employees as the agency celebrated a year of successful government reinvention efforts.

The ceremony was one of eight around the country recognizing MMS employees' efforts to provide better customer service and operate more efficiently.

Acting Director Cynthia Quarterman, and other senior MMS officials hosted a celebration commemorating the one-year anniversary of the Vice President's National Performance Review (NPR). The ceremony included a demonstration of MMS' new "NPR Talkback" electronic bulletin board, which allows all employees nationwide to comment on bureau activities and policies.

"NPR is not a passing fancy," said Quarterman. "It is real, and it is yielding results. MMS has made significant inroads in improving customer service, cutting red tape and creating an agency that works better and costs less."

MMS employees receiving NPR awards included:

New Communication Techniques

Bob Middleton, Ben Dillon, John Curran, Lee Scurry.

Customer Service

Angela Cummings, Renee Gyles.

Oil Spill Prevention and Response Planning Team

Bud Danenberger, Tom Dunaway, John Mirabella, Kathy Stanek, Larry Ake, Craig Ogawa, Sharon Buffington, Nabil Masri, Greg Gould, Fred Piltz, Bob LaBelle, Jeff Walker, Carol Hartgen, Tom Murrell, Chris Oynes, Brunhilde O'Brien, Bill Martin, Joe Henssey, Kent Stauffer, Ralph Melancon, Darice Breeding.

Local Area Network Management Team

Pat Maloney, Ted Tupper, Ravenna Westphal, Doug Slitor, Barry Drucker, Margaret Wiese.

Budget Process Team

Gig Kocher, Beverly Gonzales, Cheri Hunter, Sharon Cook.

Regulatory Reduction Team

Celeste Mullally, Arthur Quintana, Carole deWitt,

Customer Satisfaction Survey Process Team Bernadette Osolnick, Jane Carlson, Dot Nosal, Stella Penalver, Melissa Stoltz, Sharon Teger, Keith Yahn.

The Director's Commendation Award was presented to the following MMS'ers for outstanding service on special projects:

International Training Teams

John Goll, Jeff Zippin, Norm Froomer, Rishi Tyagi, Larry Cooke, Harry Akers, Kirk Sherwood, Larry Slaski, John Padan, Brad Laubach, Marvene O'Rourke, Dennis Thurston, Lydia Lourbacos, Paul Stang.

Technical Information Management System Cost Recovery Team

Marshall Rose, Larry Slaski, John Mirabella, Bill Quinn, Beverly Gonzales, Don Matheson, George Keller, Steve Gorey, Larry Maloney, Anne Ewell.

Administration and Budget Accounts Payable Section

Jessie H. Garala, Carene A. Krepinevich, Judith H. Hayes, Catherine I. Larco, Robin D. Maresco, Stella M. Penalver, Melanie C. Rose, Andrea B. Silvernale, Braniff L. Stanton, Eileen E. Thomas.

-MMS-

Subject: PR-10/27/94 NPR/66 MMS Employees Honored for Reinvention Efforts (#40080)