STATE OF ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION DIVISION OF AIR AND WATER QUALITY WATERSHED MANAGEMENT SECTION 555 CORDOVA STREET, ANCHORAGE, ALASKA 99501

Mr. Peter T. Hanley BP Exploration (Alaska) Inc. 900 East Benson Blvd. P.O. Box 196612 Anchorage, AK 99519-6612

## PERMIT NO. 9821-DB002

## DATE ISSUED: February 18, 1999

This permit is issued to BP Exploration (Alaska) Inc for the disposal of wastewater resulting from oil and gas production and associated support facilities. The waste will be disposed of by subsurface injection into the Prince Creek/Ugnu and lower Sagavanirktok Formations through either of two injection wells. These wells are located on a manmade gravel island named Seal six miles offshore of Point Storkersen in the Alaskan Beaufort Sea, Latitude 70° 29' 29" and Longitude 148° 41' 46". This permit is subject to the conditions contained in Underground Injection Control Permit Number AK-11002-A, which are incorporated herein by reference.

This permit is issued under provisions of Alaska Statutes 46.03, the Alaska Administrative Code as amended or revised, and other applicable State laws and regulations. Any rights or privileges inuring to the benefit of the Environmental Protection Agency in the Underground Injection Control permit, including any right to enter, inspect, sample, and have access to records, also inure to the benefit of the Department. Any records or other information filed with the Environmental Protection Agency pursuant to the Underground Injection Control permit must be contemporaneously filed with the Department. All reporting and notification required by this permit shall be submitted to the ADEC office listed above.

This permit is effective on February 18, 1999 and expires February 17, 2004. It may be terminated or modified in accordance with AS 46.03.120.

February 8, 19

Oil and Gas Team Lead



Bradley R. Fristoe

Mr. Peter T. Hanley BP Exploration (Alaska) Inc. February 18, 1999 9821-DB002

Enclosure: As stated

(with/enclosure) cc: Robert Dolan, ADEC/Anchorage Jonathan Williams, EPA/Seattle Al Ott, ADF&G/Fairbanks Jon Dunham, ACMP/North Slope Borough Nancy Welch, ADNR/DOL/Fairbanks Pat Sousa, F&WS/Fairbanks Bill Britt, SPCO/Anchorage Lloyd Fanter, COE/Anchorage Benjamin Nageak, Mayor, North Slope Borough/Barrow Jeanne Hanson, NMFS/Anchorage Thomas Napageak, Alaska Whaling Commission/Barrow Ken Boyd, DNR, O&G/Anchorage Glenn Gray, DGC/Juneau Ted Rockwell, EPA/Anchorage Joe Sautner, ADEC/SPAR/Anchorage Jeff Walker, MMS/Anchorage Melanie Duchin, Greenpeace/Anchorage Leonard Lampe, Mayor, City of Nuiqsut Tom Chapple, ADEC/Anchorage Brad Fristoe, ADEC/Fairbanks Jim Baumgartner, ADEC/Juneau