

United States Department of the Interior

MINERALS MANAGEMENT SERVICE Alaska Outer Continental Shelf Region 949 East 36th Avenue, Suite 308 Anchorage, Alaska 99508-4363



September 23, 1999

To: Distribution List (enclosed)

Northstar Record of Decision Issued

The Minerals Management Service (MMS) approved the Development and Production Plan (DPP) for the Northstar Project submitted by BP Exploration (Alaska), Inc. on September 3, 1999. The DPP provides for drilling and producing up to seven wells from the Northstar Island into two outer continental shelf leases. Approval of the DPP does not approve or otherwise authorize other aspects of the Northstar Project, such as island or pipeline construction, that are under the jurisdiction of other Federal, State, or local authorities.

The MMS prepared a Record of Decision, as required by 40 CFR 1505.2, which is available from this office. The enclosed News Release issued by MMS provides additional information.

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Walker Regional Supervisor

Field Operations

Enclosure

Distribution List:

Office of Environmental Policy and Compliance Regional Environmental Officer 1689 C Street, Room 119 Anchorage, AK 99501-5126

Commanding Officer, Marine Safety Office U.S. Coast Guard 510 L Street, Suite 100 Anchorage, AK 99501-1946

Director, U.S. Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management U.S. Department of Commerce 1825 Connecticut Ave. NW, Room 611 Washington, D.C. 20235

Mr. Matt Carr Environmental Protection Agency Alaska Office 222 West 7th Avenue Anchorage, AK 99513

Northern Alaska Ecological Services U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service Federal Building, Attn: Field Supervisor 101 Twelfth Avenue, Box 19 Fairbanks, AK 99701

Ms. Jeanne Hanson National Marine Fisheries Service 222 W. 7th Avenue, #43 Anchorage, AK 99513-7577

Mr. Pospahala, Assistant Regional Director U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Subsistence and Fisheries 1011 East Tudor Road Anchorage, AK 99503

Mr. Bob Barbee Regional Director National Park Service 2525 Gambell Street Anchorage, AK 99503 Mr. William Seitz Director, Alaska Science Center USGS, Biological Resources Division 1011 Tudor Road Anchorage, AK 99503-6199

Mr. Glenn Gray Division of Governmental Coordination 240 Main Street, Suite 500 Juneau, AK 99811

Mr. Brad Fristoe
Department of Environmental Conservation
610 University Avenue
Fairbanks, AK 99709

Mr. Mike Lucky Department of Environmental Conservation 555 Cordova Street Anchorage, AK 99501

Ms. Nancy Welch Department of Natural Resources 3700 Airport Way Fairbanks, AK 99709-4699

Mr. Jack Kerin
Department of Natural Resources
Division of Mining and Water Management
3700 Airport Way
Fairbanks, AK 99709-4699

Mr. Al Ott Department of Fish and Game Habitat Division 1300 College Road Fairbanks, AK 99701

Mr. Bruce Webb Department of Natural Resources Division of Oil and Gas 3601 C Street, Suite 1380 Anchorage, AK 99503-5948 Ms. Kristina M. O'Connor Alaska Department of Natural Resources Division of Oil and Gas 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 800 Anchorage, AK 99501-3510

Honorable Benjamin P. Nageak Mayor, North Slope Borough P.O. Box 69 Barrow, AK 99723

Mr. Jacob Adams, President Arctic Slope Native Association P. O. Box 1232 Barrow, AK 99723

Mr. M. D. Pederson Arctic Slope Native Association P.O. Box 1232 Barrow, AK 99723

Ms. Maggie Ahmaogak Alaska Eskimo Whaling Commission P.O. Box 570 Barrow, AK 99723

Honorable Leonard Lampe Mayor, City of Nuiqsut P.O. Box 148 Nuiqsut, AK 99789

Honorable Lon Sonsalla Mayor, City of Kaktovik P.O. Box 27 Kaktovik, AK 99747

Mr. Arnold Brower, Jr.
President, Inupiat Community of the Arctic Slope
P. O. Box 934
Barrow, AK 99723

Ms. Elsie Itta Native Village of Barrow P. O. Box 1139 Barrow, AK 99723 Honorable Jim Vorderstrasse Mayor, City of Barrow P.O. Box 629 Barrow, AK 99723

President, Ukpeagvik Inupiat Corporation P. O. Box 427 Barrow, AK 99723

Chairman
Barrow Whaling Captain's Association
P. O. Box 570
Barrow, AK 99723

Mr. Thomas Napageak Native Village of Nuiqsut P.O. Box 112 Nuiqsut, AK 99789

Mr. Eli Nukapigak Alaska Eskimo Whaling Commission General Delivery Nuiqsut, AK 99723

Mr. Alfred Linn Jr. Kaktovik Tribal Council P. O. Box 130 Kaktovik, AK 99747

Mr. Joe Kaleak, President Kaktovik Whaling Captain's Association P. O. Box 83 Kaktovik, AK 99747

President Kaktovik Inupiat Corp. P. O. Box 73 Kaktovik, AK 99747

Mr. Tom Lohman North Slope Borough 3000 C Street, Suite 200 Anchorage, Alaska 99503 President, Kuukpik Corporation P. O. Box 187 Nuiqsut, AK 99789

Mr. William H. Meadows President The Wilderness Society 900 17th Street NW Washington, D.C. 20006-2596

Mr. John Flicker President National Audubon Society 700 Broadway New York, New York 10003

Mr. Roger Schilickeisen President Defenders of Wildlife 1101 14th Street NW, Suite 1400 Washington, D.C. 20005

Ms. Sylvia Ward Executive Director Northern Alaska Environmental Center 218 Driveway Street Fairbanks, Alaska 99701

Mr. Jeff Richardson Executive Director Alaska Center for the Environment 519 West 8th Avenue, Suite 321 Anchorage, Alaska 99501

Mr. Brian O'Donnell Executive Director Alaska Wilderness League 320 4th Street NE Washington, D.C. 20002

Mr. John H. Adams
Executive Director
National Resources Defense Council
40 West 20th Street
New York, New York 10011

Mr. Carl Pope Executive Director, Sierra Club Alaska Chapter Sierra Club 241 East Fifth Avenue, #205 Anchorage, Alaska 99501

Ms. Ann L. Rothe, Executive Director Trustees for Alaska 725 Christensen Drive, #4 Anchorage, Alaska 99501

Ms. Pamela A. Miller Arctic Connections P. O. Box 101811 Anchorage, AK 99510

Ms. Melanie Duchin Greenpeace 125 Christensen Drive, #2 Anchorage, AK 99501

Ms. Deborah Williams
Executive Director
Alaska Conservation Foundation
750 West 2nd Ave., Suite 104
Anchorage, AK 99501-2101

Ms. Judith Brady Executive Director Alaska Oil & Gas Association 121 W. Fireweed Lane #207 Anchorage, AK 99503-2035

Ms. Karen Cowart Director Alaska Support Industry Alliance 4220 B Street, Suite 200 Anchorage, AK 99503