FOR RELEASE: August 1, 1995

CONTACT: Tom DeRocco (202)208-3983 Michael L. Baugher (303) 231-3162

INTERIOR ESTABLISHES ROYALTY POLICY COMMITTEE, NAMES MEMBERS AND SETS FIRST MEETING FOR DENVER

Secretary of the Interior Bruce Babbitt today announced the appointment of members to, and the establishment of, the Royalty Policy Committee for the Minerals Management Advisory Board.

The committee joins the Outer Continental Shelf Policy Committee, the Gulf of Mexico Offshore Advisory Committee and the Outer Continental Shelf Scientific Committee as members of the Minerals Management Advisory Board.

Established to provide recommendations and guidance to the Secretary of the Interior and the Director of the Minerals Management Service (MMS) on various royalty management policies and procedures, the 28-member committee comprises representatives from federal agencies, involved states, Western Governors Association, Western States Land Commissioners Association, Indian tribes and allottee associations, the minerals industry, and the interested public.

The Royalty Policy Committee is scheduled to have its first meeting in Denver in mid-September to discuss streamlining and simplifying processes associated with collecting and disbursing federal and Indian minerals revenues.

As representatives of groups most affected by mineral revenue practices, this special caucus of experts will serve an important role in advising on issues related to management of the Nation s multi-billion dollar, federal and Indian minerals revenue program. Its creation occurs at a critical time when there is an increased emphasis by all stakeholders to make the Royalty Management Program work better and cost less, said Assistant Secretary for Land and Minerals Management Bob Armstrong.

Through the MMS Royalty Management Program, the Interior Department collects and distributes nearly \$4 billion in revenues each year. Made up of bonuses, rentals and royalties, these revenues are derived from more than 100,000 federal offshore,

onshore and Indian mineral leases.

A portion of the revenues collected from onshore leases is shared with the states in which the leases are located. All revenues collected from Indian leases are turned over to the appropriate Indian organization or individual allottee through the Bureau of Indian Affairs, another Interior agency.

For additional information, contact Clare Onstad, Royalty Management Program, Minerals Management Service, Box 25165, Denver, Colorado 80225, or call (303) 231-3827.

--MMS--

Following is a list of committee members for your convenience:

Members representing states are: Ernest A. Burguieres, III, Louisiana Johnnie Burton, Wyoming

Members representing Western Governors Association: Ronald W. Cattany, Colorado Don Hoffman, Montana

Members representing Western States Land Commissioners Association are: Gary Carlson, New Mexico Della Pearson, Texas

Members representing Indian interests are:

Richard L. Ortiz, Shoshone and Arapaho Tribes Eddie Jacobs, Oklahoma Indian Minerals Owners Association David Harrison, Council of Energy Resource Tribes Perry Shirley, Navajo Nation Thomas Shipps, Southern Ute Indian Tribe Alan R. Taradash, Jicarilla Apache Tribe and Shii Shi Keyah Allottee Assn.

Members representing industry interests are:

Wendy F. Daboval, American Petroleum Institute
J. Larry Nichols, Independent Petroleum Association of
America
Darrell Gingerich, Council of Petroleum Accountant
Societies
David Blackmon, Rocky Mountain Oil and Gas Association

Alex Woodruff, Independent Petroleum Association of Mountain States Steven P. Williams, Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association Edward L. Sullivan, National Mining Association Paul E. Smallen, National Mining Association Joel Rollins, Natural Gas Supply Association

Members representing public interests are: Sandy Blackstone, a natural resources attorney Ernest E. Smith, University of Texas at Austin

ExOfficio Members representing federal agencies are:
Kenneth Carfine, Department of the Treasury
Marilyn Rand, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
Leonard L. Coburn, Department of Energy
W. Hord Tipton, Bureau of Land Management
William L. Collier, Jr., Bureau of Indian Affairs
James W. Shaw, Minerals Management Service, Executive
Secretary

--MMS--