

NEWS RELEASE

FOR RELEASE: April 4, 2001 CONTACT: Mark Pfeifle

202-208-6416

Secretary of the Interior Announces Oil and Gas Industry Awards

Secretary of the Interior Gale Norton recognized the energy industry's safest environmental stewards and most innovative fiscal leaders today in Houston, Texas where she delivered the keynote address at the Minerals Management Service's third Annual Industry Awards Program.

Executives from oil and natural gas companies were presented Department of the Interior awards in recognition of their safety and pollution prevention records, fiscal accountability, and best business practices.

"These prestigious awards recognize exemplary company performance and corporate commitment to safe offshore oil and gas operations and fiscal responsibility," said Interior Secretary Gale Norton. "The winners of these awards represent the best of the energy industry and set a standard that all companies should strive to achieve."

"You are the leading performers and pace-setters in this industry and I applaud each of you for your impressive safety and environmental records. As the stewards of our nation's limited energy resources, your corporate leadership has contributed to a successful partnership between the federal government and oil and gas industry. Your excellent corporate leadership has and will continue to enhance the viability of our nation's energy program. I applaud your commitment to being the best in the business," commented Secretary Norton.

The winners of the 2000 Safety Award for Excellence (SAFE), the Secretary of the Interior's Mineral Revenues Stewardship Award, the Corporate Citizen Award, and the Corporate Leadership were honored.

The SAFE Award recognizes outstanding safety and pollution prevention achievement by offshore oil and gas operators and contractors. The 2000 SAFE Award winners are:

- Kerr-McGee Oil and Gas Corporation
- Agip Petroleum Company
- ENSCO Offshore Company
- Danos & Curole Marine Contractors, Inc.

The Mineral Revenues Stewardship Award recognizes companies that demonstrate exceptional compliance with mineral revenue laws and federal financial requirements. The 2000 Stewardship Award winners are:

• Devon Energy Corporation

- Chevron USA Production Company
- San Juan Coal Company.

Samedan Oil Corporation was the winner of the Corporate Citizen Award, an honor given to an outstanding company for both offshore operating performance and fiscal responsibility.

The Secretary also recognized the winners of the MMS Corporate Leadership Award for performing an act or service that enhanced the mission and objectives of the MMS. CORLA winners were:

- Cyril Arney (Marathon), Jim Heimer (ExxonMobil), Tim Sampson (American Petroleum Institute), Cheryl Stark (BP Amoco)- a group award for leadership in the development of technical standards.
- Steve T. Brooks ExxonMobil Corporation: leadership on the Deepstar regulatory committee, OOC regulations reviews, and several technical standards.
- Andrew M. Burglass Shell Exploration & Production Company: leadership on production and development training programs.
- G. Hank Danos Danos & Curole Marine Contractors: leadership on Gulf of Mexico regulatory compliance issues.
- Charlie Duhon Kerr-McGee Oil & Gas Corporation: leadership in developing SEMP audit protocols.
- Ronald G. Heck Samedan Oil Company: leadership on 3-D seismic, rig contracting and baseline studies in the Pacific Region.
- Andrew E. Levine Tennessee Gas Pipeline Company: outstanding efforts to assist the new MMS royalty-in-kind program in gaining corporate knowledge necessary to succeed in the business world.
- Wendy F. Daboval, Douglas A. Duke, Jimmy L. Franks, Ronnie A. Martin, and Malcolm Doran Taylor, Texaco Exploration and Production, Inc.: working collaboratively on royalty valuation issues and completing compliance processes in a shorter timeframe.
- Charles E. Roybal BHP Minerals, New Mexico Operations: ongoing contributions to compliance reengineering efforts and complex valuation issues.
- Tom Sellers Conoco Oil Company: outstanding leadership in educating domestic and international groups on OCS exploration, development, and regulatory policy.
- Blaine Wofford Devon Energy Corporation: outstanding assistance to the royalty-in-kind program with gas plant processing economics.

-MMS-

MMS Internet website address: http://www.mms.gov