## U.S. Department of the Interior Minerals Management Service Office of Public Affairs

## **NEWS RELEASE**

FOR RELEASE: February 1, 2001 CONTACT: A.B. Wade

(202) 208-3985

## MMS Announces Winners of Corporate Leadership Award

Some of the best in the oil and gas industry will be honored April 4, 2001 at the Minerals Management Service annual <u>Industry Awards Ceremony</u> in Houston, Texas. Recipients of the 2000 Corporate Leadership Award (CORLA) will be recognized for performing an act or service that enhanced the MMS mission objectives.

"We are pleased to recognize these individuals for their professionalism, cooperation, and support for the MMS offshore and minerals revenue programs," said MMS Acting Director Tom Kitsos. "They are excellent corporate customers and their dedication has been extremely beneficial for the MMS in its management of revenue collection and offshore development."

The following individuals will be congratulated as the 2000 CORLA recipients at the MMS awards ceremony.

Cyril Arney (Marathon), Jim Heimer (ExxonMobil), Tim Sampson (American Petroleum Institute), Cheryl Stark (BP Amoco)- a group award for leadership in the development of technical standards.

**Steve T. Brooks** - ExxonMobil Corporation: leadership on the Deepstar regulatory committee, OOC regulations reviews, and several technical standards.

**Andrew M. Burglass** - Shell Exploration & Production Company: leadership on production and development training programs.

G. Hank Danos - Danos & Curole Marine Contractors: leadership on Gulf of Mexico regulatory compliance issues.

Charlie Duhon - Kerr-McGee Oil & Gas Corporation: leadership in developing SEMP audit protocols.

**Ronald G. Heck** - Samedan Oil Company: leadership on 3-D seismic, rig contracting and baseline studies in the Pacific Region.

**Andrew E. Levine** - Tennessee Gas Pipeline Company: outstanding efforts to assist the new MMS royalty-in-kind program in gaining corporate knowledge necessary to succeed in the business world.

Wendy F. Daboval, Douglas A. Duke, Jimmy L. Franks, Ronnie A. Martin, and Malcolm Doran Taylor, - Texaco Exploration and Production, Inc.: working collaboratively on royalty valuation issues, and completing compliance processes in a shorter timeframe.

**Charles E. Roybal** - BHP Minerals, New Mexico Operations: ongoing contributions to compliance reengineering efforts and complex valuation issues.

**Tom Sellers** - Conoco Oil Company: outstanding leadership in educating domestic and international groups on OCS exploration, development and regulatory policy.

**Blaine Wofford** - Devon Energy Corporation: outstanding assistance to the royalty-in-kind program with gas plant processing economics.

For more information about the MMS awards program and luncheon visit our website at: <a href="http://www.mms.gov/awards">http://www.mms.gov/awards</a>.

The MMS, a bureau in the U.S. Department of the Interior, is the federal agency that manages the nation's natural gas, oil and other mineral resources on the outer continental shelf. The agency also collects, accounts for and <u>disburses more than</u> \$5 billion per year in revenues from federal offshore mineral leases and from onshore mineral leases on federal and Indian lands.

-MMS-

MMS Internet website address: <a href="http://www.mms.gov">http://www.mms.gov</a>