

## U.S. Department of the Interior Minerals Management Service Office of Public Affairs

## **NEWS RELEASE**

FOR RELEASE: February 13, 2003 CONTACT: Nicolette Humphries

(202) 208-3985

## MMS ANNOUNCES WINNERS OF CORPORATE LEADERSHIP AWARD

The U.S. Department of the Interior's Minerals Management Service today announced the recipients of the Corporate Leadership Award (CORLA). Recipients of the CORLA are recognized for performing an act or service that enhances the MMS mission objectives.

"We are pleased to recognize these individuals for their professionalism, cooperation and support," said MMS Director Johnnie Burton. "These annual awards publicly recognize industry leadership that contributes to the achievement of MMS's strategic goals."

The CORLA recipients who will be recognized at the MMS awards ceremony in Houston, Texas on April 29, 2003, include:

- Steve Adamcik (El Paso Pipeline Group) for assisting MMS on royalty-in-kind (RIK) natural gas transportation issues, offering creative business approaches resulting in mutually beneficial contracts for transporting RIK natural gas from deepwater properties, and facilitating prompt resolution to unforeseen transportation issues.
- Mike Bell and Terry James (Unocal Deepwater USA) for exceptional leadership, planning and contributions to the successful outcome of a joint Mexican-United States oil spill exercise.
- Steve Brooks (Exxon/Mobil) for outstanding initiative in organizing, planning and conducting an industry sponsored survey to assist MMS to better understand industry's concerns with consistency regarding inspections.
- Mark Davis and Steven Whiteside (Shell Offshore, Inc.) for outstanding leadership, innovation, planning, and enthusiasm in assisting MMS in the verification of measurement and royalty payments

from OCS leases in gas condensate commingling systems.

- **David Deal** (American Petroleum Institute) for his many years of active participation in numerous MMS regulatory initiatives and contributions toward resolving differences, reducing litigation, and developing simplified royalty processes.
- Mike Faulise and Steve Smetana (Shell Exploration and Production Company) for outstanding assistance to the MMS Royalty-in-Kind Oil Marketing Team, in providing detailed information on pipeline infrastructure/flow and industry marketing, resulting in improved RIK bid packages that are aligned with standard commercial practices.
- **Donna M. Hurley** (ExxonMobil Production Corporation) for outstanding leadership in E-business initiatives, technology transfer and regulatory matters associated with reservoir analysis and production.
- Craig Landry (Ocean Energy Inc.) for exceptional leadership, enthusiasm and cooperation in assisting MMS with onsite inspection initiatives, aggressive support of personnel safety and fostering regulatory compliance.
- **Gerald (Gerry) Macey and Mark Schindler** (respectively: EnCana Corporation and Lynx Enterprises Inc.) for exemplary leadership and contributions in successfully addressing government and Native concerns for the McCovey exploration project in the Beaufort Sea Outer Continental Shelf.
- Ron McCaslin and Jeanne Smith (Devon Energy Corporation) for commitment and professional assistance in identifying and resolving royalty issues expeditiously and fairly, which helped MMS toward achieving its strategic goal of contemporaneous audits/reviews on Devon-managed properties well before MMS's goal of 3-years.
- **Tammy Naron** (Apache Corporation) for high-energy and open communication and facilitation of decisions among the producers, pipelines, plants and MMS, leading to more efficient and effective administration of the MMS Royalty-in-Kind Program.
- Wanda June Parker (WJP Enterprises) for exceptional contributions as an industry representative on the MMS managed and industry funded FPSO EIS, and as the primary industry representative in the organization and review of the FPSO Regulatory Gaps Analysis.
- **Joseph Peschier** (Island Operating Co., Inc.) for proactive leadership on platform safety programs, and exceptional competency and professionalism in working with MMS Inspectors.
- **Dr. James Ray** (Shell Global Solutions (US) Inc.) for exemplary leadership on addressing environmental issues, working through win-win solutions and for his many contributions serving on the Offshore Operators Committee, Deepwater Committee and the MMS Scientific Committee.
- **Brian Russo** (Affiliated Computer Services, Inc.) for providing above and beyond training and assistance to MMS, which contributed to the successful implementation of the new financial accounting system in MRM, timely production data conversion, and accurate interface functionality between OEMM systems and the new MRM system.
- Alexander Sas-Jaworsky II (SAS Industries, Inc.) for outstanding innovation and leadership in writing a new API RP for operations using coiled tubing, snubbing units and wireline equipment.

- Larry Smith (Applied Hydraulic Systems, Inc.) for outstanding leadership, contributions and efforts to assist MMS and industry in improving the safety of offshore crane operations.
- Maralene Spawn (Burlington Resources Oil and Gas Company LP) for outstanding commitment in ensuring timely conversion of Burlington's production data to the new reporting format, and sharing her knowledge generously with MMS to assist in development of the new system.

For more information about the MMS awards program and luncheon visit our website at: <a href="http://www.boem.gov">http://www.boem.gov</a>.

MMS is the Federal agency in the U.S. Department of the Interior that manages the nation's oil, natural gas, and other mineral resources on the outer continental shelf in Federal offshore waters. The agency also collects, accounts for, and disburses mineral revenues from Federal and American Indian leases. These revenues totaled over \$6 billion in 2002 and nearly \$127 billion since the agency was created in 1982. Annually, nearly \$1 billion from those revenues go into the Land and Water Conservation Fund for the acquisition and development of state and Federal park and recreation lands.

-MMS-