The NewsRoom

Release: 3495 Date: April 25, 2006

Minerals Management Service Honors Best in Industry

HOUSTON -- More than 700 attendees joined the Minerals Management Service (MMS) today to recognize companies and individuals for achievements in offshore safety, as well as in revenue management, at the annual MMS Industry Awards Program. **Acting Interior Secretary Lynn Scarlett** honored winners of the Corporate Leadership Award (CORLA), Safety Award for Excellence (SAFE), Mineral Revenues Stewardship Award, and the Safe Operations and Accurate Reporting Award (SOAR).

"I am pleased to be here to recognize these companies and individuals and to salute their professionalism, cooperation and support for the MMS offshore and minerals revenue programs," said Acting Secretary Scarlett. "The Interior Department strives to balance the search for offshore energy and minerals resources with the protection of the human, marine and coastal environments. Today's honorees not only meet our tough standards in these areas; they exceed them."

There are several categories of awards that are presented at the event.

They include:

The **CORLA** Award -- recognizes individuals who work closely with MMS to improve revenue collection and processes for offshore development;

The <u>SAFE Award</u> -- recognizes outstanding safety and pollution prevention achievement by offshore oil and gas operators and contractors;

The <u>Mineral Revenues Stewardship Award</u> -- recognizes companies that demonstrate exceptional compliance with mineral revenues laws and Federal financial requirements; and,

The **SOAR Award** -- recognizes an industry entity that demonstrates the highest commitment to safety, stewardship and resource management.

The winners in each category are listed below.

2005 CORLA Winners

- T. David Bond, Chevron North America Exploration and Production
- Ricky Allan Britt, Chevron USA Inc.
- Molly Conrad, Crazy Mountain, Inc.
- J. Keith Couvillion, Chevron USA Inc.
- Gregg H. Falgout, Island Operating Company, Inc.
- George "Doug" Foster, Diamond Offshore Drilling, Inc.
- Linda J. Gilmer, BP America Production Company
- Merrill Jacobs, Clean Seas, LLC
- Daniel May and Tamica Whorton, Enterprise Products Operating, L.P.
- Robert J. Moore and Morris LaRubbio, Cinergy Marketing & Trading, LP
- Wes Morgan, Rowan Drilling Company, Inc.
- Clyde Self, Wood Group Production Services
- Michael E. Watters, Shell Pipeline
- Pamela Williams, Shell Exploration and Production Company

Exxon Mobil Corporation

2005 SAFE Award Winners

- Newfield Exploration Company
- Nexen Petroleum USA Inc.
- TODCO
- Baker Energy

2005 Mineral Revenues Stewardship Award Winners

- Exxon Mobil Corporation
- Walter Oil and Gas Corporation
- Energen Corporation
- Kennecott Energy Company

Relevant Web Site: MMS Main Website

Media Contact:

Nicolette Nye 703-787-1011

MMS: Securing Ocean Energy & Economic Value for America
U.S. Department of the Interior