

# JUL 1 2 2007

REGIONAL SUPERVISOR FIELD OPERATION MINERALS MANAGEMENT SERVICE

July 3, 2007

Mr. John Goll Regional Director Alaska OCS Region U.S. Department of Interior Minerals Management Service 3801 Centerpoint Dr., Suite 500 Anchorage, Alaska 99503

### Submittal of Revised Oil Spill Risk Analysis Environmental Impact Analysis Liberty Development Project

#### Dear Mr. Goll:

BP Exploration (Alaska) Inc. (BPXA) is herein transmitting a revised Appendix A to the Liberty Environmental Impact Analysis (EIA) - DRAFT Analysis of Industry Crude and Product Oil Spills on the Alaska North Slope and Estimates of Potential Spills for the Liberty Development Project, dated July 2, 2007. The original oil spill risk analysis – Appendix A. Draft Analysis of Potential Oil and Hydrocarbon Spills for the Proposed Liberty Development Project dated April 3, 2007 – was submitted on April 25, 2007 as part of the Liberty Development Project Development and Production Plan (April 2007) (DPP).

BPXA thanks the Minerals Management Service (MMS) for a thoughtful and through review of our initial draft oil spill analysis and has incorporated most of your comments on the attached revised draft.

The changes made to Appendix A also change portions of Section 3.4, Fate and Effects of Oil Spills, of the EIA. BPXA has submitted this revised section to MMS via email on June 4, 2007.



BP Exploration (Alaska) Inc. 900 East Benson Boulevard P.O. Box 196612 Anchorage, Alaska 99519-6612 (907) 561-5111 Mr. John Goll, Regional Director, MMS July 3, 2007 Page 2

Please contact Cash Fay at (907) 339-5067 (<u>fayce@bp.com</u>) or myself at (907) 339-5021 (<u>Darryl.Luoma@bp.com</u>) if you require additional information or have further questions.

Sincerely,

\$

Darryl Luoma, Liberty Project General Manager BP Exploration (Alaska) Inc.

Attachments:

- (1) Liberty EIA Appendix A Distribution List
- (2) Appendix A. DRAFT Analysis of Industry Crude and Product Oil Spills on the Alaska North Slope and Estimates of Potential Spills for the Liberty Development Project
- cc: DISTRIBUTION LIST

Mr. John Goll Regional Director Alaska OCS Region U.S. Department of Interior Minerals Management Service 3801 Centerpoint Dr., Suite 500 Anchorage, Alaska 99503

Mr. Jeff Walker Regional Supervisor Field Operations Alaska OCS Region U.S. Department of Interior Minerals Management Service 3801 Centerpoint Dr., Suite 500 Anchorage, Alaska 99503 **15 copies** 

Mr. Michiel E. Holley U.S. Army Corps of Engineers CEPOA-CO-Regulatory P.O. Box 6898 Elmendorf AFB, AK 99506-6898 **2 copies** 

Don Perrin State of Alaska Department of Natural Resources Office Project Management Permitting 550 W. 7th Ave, Suite 705 Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3559

Joe Balash Special Staff Assistant Office of the Governor P.O. Box 110001 Juneau, Alaska 99811-0001

Ben A. Greene State of Alaska Department of Natural Resources Alaska Coastal Zone Management Program 550 W. 7th Ave., Suite 705 Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3559 Leon C. Lynch State of Alaska Department of Natural Resources Northern Alaska Area, Division of Mining, Land, and Water 3700 Airport Way Fairbanks, Alaska 99709-4699

Mark Fink State of Alaska Department of Fish & Game 333 Raspberry Road, Anchorage, Alaska 99518

Judith Bittner State of Alaska Department of Natural Resources Office of History and Archaeology, 550 W. 7th Ave. Suite 1310, Anchorage Alaska 99501-3565

Lydia M. Miner State of Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation Division of Spill Prevention and Response (SPAR) 555 Cordova St. Anchorage, Alaska 99501-2617

Gary Mendivil State of Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation 410 Willoughby Ave., Ste 303 P.O. Box 111800 Juneau, Alaska 99811-1800

Sally Ryan State of Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation Air Permits Program Division of Air Quality 555 Cordova Street Anchorage, Alaska 99501-2617

Sharmon Stambaugh State of Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation Division of Water 555 Cordova Street Anchorage, Alaska 99501-2617

Trevor Fairbanks State of Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation Division of Water 555 Cordova Street Anchorage, Alaska 99501-2617

Brenda Krauss State of Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation Division of Water Division of Air Quality 410 Willoughby Ave., Ste 303 Juneau, Alaska 99811-1800

Mr. Steve Schmitz State of Alaska Department of Natural Resources Division of Oil and Gas 550 W. 7th Ave., Suite 800 Anchorage, AK 99501-3577

Mr. Frank Maxwell Division of Mining, Land and Water Alaska Department of Natural Resources Division of Land 3700 Airport Way Fairbanks, AK 99709-4699

Ms. Patricia Bettis Department of Natural Resources Division of Mining, Land and Water Water Management Unit 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1020 Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3561

Jack Winters State of Alaska Department of Natural Resources Office of Habitat Management and Permitting 1300 College Rd Fairbanks, Alaska 99701-1599 Cathy Foerster State of Alaska Alaska Oil & Gas Conservation Commission 333 W. 7th. Ave. Suite 100 Anchorage, Alaska 99501

Mr. Mike Thompson State Pipeline Coordinator State Pipeline Coordinator's Office 411 W. 4th Avenue, Suite 2 Anchorage, Alaska 99501-2343

Mr. Larry Bright U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 101 12th Ave., Box 19, Rm 110 Fairbanks, AK 99701-6267

Mr. Ted Swem U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 101 12th Ave., Box 19, Rm 110 Fairbanks, AK 99701-6267

Rosa Meehan, Ph.D Chief, Marine Mammals Management U.S Fish & Wildlife Service Region 7 1011 East Tudor Rd. Anchorage, Alaska 99503-6199

Pamela Bergmann Department of the Interior Office of Environmental Policy & Compliance 1689 C St. Room - 119 Anchorage, Alaska 99501

Brad Smith National Marine Fisheries Service 222 W 7<sup>th</sup> Avenue, Box 43 Anchorage, Alaska 99513

Dianne Soderlund U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Alaska Operations Office 222 West 7<sup>th</sup> Ave. Box 19 Anchorage, Alaska 99513

Ted Rockwell U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Alaska Operations Office 222 West 7<sup>th</sup> Ave. Box 19 Anchorage, Alaska 99513

Hahn Shaw U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region X 1200 Sixth Avenue Seattle, Washington 98101

Mr. James Helfinstine, AK Bridge Program Administrator Commander, 17th Coast Guard District OAN P.O. Box 25517 Juneau, Alaska 99802-5517

Honorable Edward Itta Mayor of North Slope Borough PO Box 570 Barrow, Alaska 99723

Johnny Aiken Director Planning North Slope Borough P.O. Box 69 Barrow, Alaska 99723

Taqulik Hepa North Slope Borough Dept of Wildlife Management P.O. Box 69 Barrow, Alaska 99723

Honorable Nate Olemaun, Jr., Mayor of Barrow P.O. Box 629 Barrow, Alaska 99723

Mr. Thomas Olemaun, President Native Village of Barrow Inupiat Traditional Government P.O. Box 1130 Barrow, Alaska 99723 Tom Lohman North Slope Borough Department of Wildlife Management 4011 Winchester Loop Anchorage, Alaska 99507

Honorable Lon Sonsalla Mayor of Kaktovik PO Box 27 Kaktovik, Alaska 99747

Mr. Isaac Akootchook, President Native Village of Kaktovik PO Box 130 Kaktovik, Alaska 99747

Honorable Carl Brower Mayor of Nuiqsut PO Box 89148 Nuiqsut, Alaska 99789

Mr. Leonard Lampe, Sr., President Native Village of Nuiqsut PO Box 89169 Nuiqsut, Alaska 99789

Mr. Harry Brower, Chairman Alaska Eskimo Whaling Commission PO Box 570 Barrow, Alaska 99723

Mr. Arnold Brower, Jr., President Inupiat Community of the Arctic Slope P.O. Box 934 Barrow, Alaska 99723

Lanston Chinn, General Manager Kuukpik 825 West 8th Ave., Suite 206 Anchorage, Alaska 99501

Brian Boyd Kuukpik 825 W. 8<sup>th</sup> Ave, Suite 206 Anchorage, Alaska 99501

Gordon Brown Kuukpik Subsistence Oversight Board P.O. Box 89187 Nuiqsut, Alaska 99789

Isaac Nukapigak, President Kuukpik Corporation P.O. Box 89187 Nuiqsut, Alaska 99789

Adeline Hopson P.O. Box 1122 Barrow, AK 99723

Marilyn Crockett Alaska Oil and Gas Association 121 W. Fireweed Lane, Suite 207 Anchorage, Alaska 99503-2035