

NEWS RELEASE

NEWS MEDIA CONTACT Nicolette Nye, 703-787-1011

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Tuesday, April 17, 2007

Office of Public Affairs

MMS Honors Best in Energy Industry

Achievements in Safety, Pollution Prevention, Conservation and Revenue Management Noted

WASHINGTON – More than 700 attendees joined the Department of the Interior's Minerals Management Service (MMS) in recognizing companies and individuals for achievements in offshore safety and revenue management at the 2006 MMS Industry Awards Program today in Houston. The four awards presented are the Corporate Leadership Award (CORLA), Safety Award for Excellence (SAFE), the Safe Operations and Accurate Reporting (SOAR) Award, and the Minerals Revenue Stewardship Award.

"As the agency responsible for regulating oil and gas production on the Outer Continental Shelf and collecting all federal and Indian minerals revenue, it is imperative that MMS continually strive to improve our methods and enhance our knowledge base," MMS Deputy Director Walter Cruickshank said. "Today's award-winners have not only helped MMS, but the American public as well, through their efforts in the areas of safety, pollution prevention, conservation and revenue management."

The Safety Award for Excellence (SAFE) recognizes outstanding safety and pollution prevention achievement by offshore oil and gas operators and contractors.

The 2006 SAFE Award Winners:

- *High Activity* Shell Exploration & Production Company
- o Moderate Activity Murphy Exploration & Production Company-USA
- o Drilling Contractor Noble Corp.
- o Production Contractor Baker Energy

The Mineral Revenues Stewardship Award recognizes exceptional performance by companies that report production and pay royalties for Federal and Indian mineral leases to MMS.

-MORE-

The 2006 Mineral Revenues Stewardship Award Winners:

Oil and Gas Reporter

- ConocoPhillips
- Shell Exploration and Production Company
- XTO Energy, Inc.

Solid Minerals Reporter

o Foundation Wyoming Land Company

The Safe Operations and Accurate Reporting (SOAR) Award is presented to the best OCS companies based on offshore operational safety and financial compliance.

The 2006 Safe Operations and Accurate Reporting (SOAR) Award Winner:

o Shell Exploration and Production Company

The Corporate Leadership Award (CORLA) is given to individuals who have worked closely with MMS to improve revenue collection and processes for offshore development.

The 2006 Corporate Leadership Award (CORLA) Winners:

- o Maggie Barrios Grigsby, Chevron, U.S.A.
- o Michael Bradshaw, Danos & Curole Marine Contractors, LLC
- o Horace Howard, Rowan Companies, Inc.
- o Tad LeBlanc, Baker Energy
- o Huong Nguyen, Merit Energy Company
- o Joel Plauche, Apache Corporation
- o Paul J. Prodoehl, Williams Gas Pipeline-Transco
- o Blaine Segura, BP America, Inc.
- o Wayne Weicks, Shell Exploration & Production Company
- Bill Briggs, Renee DiGirolamo, Anthony Fasone, Kirk Foreman and Scott Smith, *ConocoPhillips*
- Cort Cooper, Sandi Fury, Paul Versowsky and Dave Wisch, *Chevron U.S.A.*; Pat O'Connor, *BP Exploration and Production*; Frank Puskar, *Energo*; Charlie Williams, *Shell*; and Evan Zimmerman, *Delmar*

-- MMS --